30-Second Bunny Movies and Star Wars

Forgive me for this post. I’m in a bit of a goofy mood.

Continuing the theme of library, may I present The 30-Second Bunnies Theatre Library. Among my favorites are Casablanca, A Christmas Story, It’s A Wonderful Life, and Sixteen Candles.

And while we’re being silly, don’t forget Grocery Store Wars. Or even sillier is this. The Vader/Stormtrooper “Thriller” throwdown should have been added by Mel Brooks when he made Spaceballs.

But for pure pain that will have you wrapping duct tape around your head so it doesn’t explode, you have got to watch this: The Star Wars Holiday Special (1978). How in the WORLD did I miss this when I was a kid? True, I was ten, but DAY-UMM! Two hours of video that has never aired again, and if you watch this 5 minute condensed version of the non-Christ centered “Life Day” special you will see why. I’m amazed that Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill and Carrie Fischer didn’t kill George Lucas for this. And it even had a cartoon that introduced Boba Fett.

Bea Arthur, Art Carney, Jefferson Starship, Diahann Carroll and Harvey Korman???? I mean….Bea-freakin-Arthur??? Holy cow! I think one of my temples just cracked. At the three-minute mark Bea starts dancin’ and singin’ to beat the band…and two years of my life expectancy were stolen. Maude, noooooooooo!!!!

Wikipedia has the full background on this stinker. Thank you, Mom and Dad, for shielding me from this when I was 10 and preventing irreparable damage. I owe you big time.

One thought on “30-Second Bunny Movies and Star Wars

  1. Darth Vader didn’t surprise me–he was always a narcissist, but oh my Star Wars, Chewie bustin’ a move?? Worst of all, I realized from whom Billy Ray Cyrus stole his mullet-look; it is that which is going to make me sleep with the lights on tonight. And the bunny movies are total plot-spoilers, dangit.

    (I roared at all of it –thanks for sharing!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

