Two movies. Two choices.

I am anxiously awaiting the opening of a movie this Friday…highly anticipated and a must see. And it’s not The Dark Knight. This Friday audiences will have a definite choice in movies: a dark, gothic and cynical drama…or a light-hearted, bouncy, and optimistic musical.

Oh of course I’ll be trying to find time to make it to the theater and watch the Batman take on Heath Ledger’s Joker. I have been a huge Batman fan my entire life and have enjoyed the latest movie series with Christian Bale as the lead Bat. But when opportunity presents itself the more likely place to find me will be in the moviehouse where Mamma Mia! is playing. Yes, you heard me correctly. I said Mamma Mia. After missing out on attending Prince Caspian because I took my son and his buddies to see the dreadful Indiana Jones / Crystal Skull dreck I’m determined not to miss this one.

My wife and I attended a production of Mamma Mia! at the Lied Center a few years ago and were captivated by this fun, bouncy and engaging musical. It didn’t hurt that the music is entirely out of the ABBA catalog. I am a long confessing ABBA-maniac after all. But the story isn’t just a hodgepodge tossed together in the hope that the music carries the show. Each is responsible for the enjoyable experience gained by watching the play. We were both captivated and said on our way out “I hope they make that into a movie.” And so they have. And so I’ll be in attendance.

I admit that when I saw that Meryl Streep was to be playing the lead role of Donna I was not too enthused as I’ve never been a fan of hers. But the movie trailer has somewhat quelled my apprehension and I look forward to seeing Donna, her daughter Sophie, and the rest of the great cast of characters once again.

Mamma Mia! has been seen by 30 million people in 170 countries in 8 languages since its debut. Here’s to many more finally getting the chance to enjoy the experience and the escape such fun provides.

Two more movie trailers are here.

Timeless songs such as Dancing Queen, I Have a Dream, Voulez-Vous, and Take a Chance on Me, are ingeniously woven into an enchanting tale of love, laughter and friendship. On the eve of her wedding, a daughter’s quest to discover the identity of her father brings 3 men from her mother’s past back to the Greek island paradise they last visited 20 years ago.

Leave a Reply

