A mellow evening of music

Feeling really mellow after a long week and I thought I’d share some old favorites I found tonight on You Tube. I think you’ll like them. Put the kids to bed, pour yourself a glass of wine, pull up a chair, and relax.

First up is One Cool Remove. This song is such a sweet song, performed by two of my favorite singer-songwriters Shawn Colvin with Mary Chapin Carpenter on Shawn’s “Cover Girl” disc from the mid-90s. Her “Fat City” CD from 1992 is what I was listening to on my way home from a late night at the office tonight and I guess it put me in the mood.

I never come nor go nor stay
One cool remove away–

Sweet Jane as remade by The Cowboy Junkies remains timeless. Margo’s voice is like a pair of soft lips brushing up against your ear. Well…for me anyhow. (Margo and the boys also remade Gram Parsons Hot Burrito #1 as a CD single but I can’t find it online. So I linked the original, which is still a damned good song, though I really loved the Junkies live version. Video is bizarre, so close your eyes and sip some wine.)

Heavenly wine and roses
seem to whisper to me when you smile.

Lift Me Up from Yes’ Union album. Gorgeous video.

Lead me on into the dawn…
What to do I find it hard to know;
The road I walk is not the one I chose

Hurricane Room by The Blessing. A song with an atmosphere so thick you have to brush it away from your face. No clue what movie this is in the video and it’s unrelated to the song. But the song….damn. I finally found the album Prince of the Deep Water on iTunes and snagged that sucker. My copy’s been missing since 1991.

See me wistful in some harbor bar, I tend the warm glass and the dueling scar
I sing my misappropriation song, for lovers landlocked far too long.

Seize The Day by Carolyn Arends. Another favorite singer-songwriter who resides in the Christian genre. This song has a message that haunts many among us, but even moreso is a lifeline. Which character are you?

I know a man who’s been doing some thinking
He’s as bitter and cold as the whiskey he’s drinking
He’s talking ’bout fear, about chances not taken
If you listen to him you can hear his heart breaking
He says ‘One day you’re a boy and the next day you’re dead

Starting to wind down now. All that’s left in my glass are some whiskey-flavored ice cube remains. So let’s finish up.

Hold Me Jesus by the one and only Rich Mullins.

And I wake up in the night and feel the dark
It’s so hot inside my soul
I swear there must be blisters on my heart

Brave Companion of the Road is a Nanci Griffith song from an 80s album “Storms”. She recently re-recorded it for her “Ruby’s Torch” CD last year. My favorite singer-songwriter singing one of my favorite songs. James Hooker accentuates her music with his piano playing as he so often does. Perfect. Thank you kindly, Nanci.

It seems to me that you are lonelier
Than I’ve ever seen you be
Oh, it’s plain to see
That you’ve gone crazier
Than you ever thought you’d be

These last two songs, coupled by my calendar made me remember at this moment that a magnaminous 25-year anniversary is approaching for me. Dec. 7, 1983. I’ll write more of it later. Between now and then I’ve a little road trip to make. A solitary one to a lonely hilltop prairie cemetery near Dodge, Nebraska…St. Wenceslaus. Twenty-five years.

Ok…my glass is empty.

The longer I live, the more beautiful life becomes. — Frank Lloyd Wright

Leave a Reply

