Throwing Monkeys and Drinking Wood

The title of this blog post is absurd and meaningless. It was said to me at work on Friday by a co-worker when we were discussing something I’ve already forgotten. But the phrase itself seems to “fit” with the subject at hand: myth and storytelling.

I’ve hit a point in my life where I wonder if I wish to continue blogging or writing. These thoughts came to me last night as I considered whether to cave and go back on to Facebook or not. In the end I decided that I likely will, but I want to give it a full 30 days respite in order to do some much needed recharging of my batteries.

If I do decide to continue writing it may not be here on this blog. It’s too early to tell but with this time off I am doing a lot of thinking about what exactly it is I want to write about. A good friend texted me the other day some words of encouragement with regards to my writing. “You’re really good,” she said. “You have to continue.”

“I finally believe that I’m good,” I replied. “I just don’t know that anyone wants to hear what I have to say.”

And I don’t know. Which is why if I do continue I want it to be in the vein of something that is interesting to me, interesting to others, and something worth saying. The last thing I want to do is to just add to the vast amounts of noise and blather that dominate in these times. This means I won’t do politics…there’s enough of that already being said ad nauseum. I won’t do a lot about Catholicism, etc. I’m not a master theologian.

Instead I am spending my time reading and studying the ideas about myths and what components make up the great stories of our lives. I have been reading The Landmark Herodutus: The Histories for the past month and find it to be excellent storytelling. Furthermore I’m reading the following books as points of study: J.R.R. Tolkien: Myth, Morality & Religion, Wizards, Warlocks & Wookies: Navigating Good and Evil in Harry Potter, Narnia and Star Wars, and Sir Gawain and the Green Knight.

Why am I doing this? For several reasons I suppose. For one, I love this type of story. Owning a degree in History and considering it a lifelong interest and pursuit I remain fascinated by the stories of old, and of the new, that are epic and inspiring. We live in a cynical, hustle/bustle world in which this type of story, and the lessons learned from them, are fading and often ignored. Which brings me to why I am studying them.

I read once where a celebrated author upon being asked why he wrote the great stories he wrote said simply “because they are the types of stories I liked to read and I couldn’t find any to read.” I’m paraphrasing but you get the idea. Someday I may wish to write just such a story both for me and my progeny. And if I’m going to do so I figure I ought to know the how as well as the why.

2 thoughts on “Throwing Monkeys and Drinking Wood

  1. “And if I’m going to do so I figure I ought to know the how as well as the why.”

    Ah, what a wonderful world it would be if more people would embrace that philosophy. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Harry and Me « Dolce Domum

Leave a Reply

