Songs of Sadness

Almost a year ago, and for reasons I do not recall, I started drafting a post about songs that made me cry. Hearing this morning on the radio that a list of the top ten songs that made men cry had been published, I decided to give it another go. None of the songs on that survey made it to my final list as you’ll see.

#10. Life By The Drop – Stevie Ray Vaughan
The last song on SRV’s final album (The Sky Is Cryin’). It was as if Stevie was giving us the words to say as we said goodbye to him. “You went your way, I stayed behind…”

#9. Cryin’ – Roy Orbison
She’s moved on. You thought you had. You haven’t.

#8. Hurt – Johnny Cash
The song is  enough, but when coupled with the images in the video they leave an indelible mark.

#7. Cinderella – Steven Curtis Chapman
Poignant in that at the time of it’s release, Steven’s five year old daughter was tragically killed in a car-related accident. Better than the overwrought “Butterfly Kisses”, a reminder that time passes too fast, and “…all too soon the clock will strike midnight and she’ll be gone…”

#6. Don’t Give Up – Peter Gabriel & Kate Bush
In these tough economic times this song remains relevant. Kate Bush provides the perfect response to Peter Gabriel’s despair.

#5. This Is Your Time – Michael W. Smith
Dedicated to Cassie Bernall who was murdered at Columbine in 1999. Beautiful song, and the bagpipes at the end do me in. I read a few years ago that when Smith presented this song to Cassie’s parents he was unsure about the bagpipes. They smiled and said that Cassie had loved the instrument. Smitty decided to keep them in the song.

#4. The Cat’s In The Cradle – Harry Chapin
Obligatory, is it not? The song that rips the heart out of every son…every father. No matter how much you do heed the song’s message you will always find yourself asking “Am I doing enough?”

#3. Concrete Angel – Martina McBride
I still can’t watch the video for this song. I’m a wreck by the time it’s 90 seconds in.

#2. Jacob’s Dream – Alison Krauss
Krauss called this “the saddest song I’ve ever heard.” I agree. A parent’s worst nightmare, it’s based upon a true story.

#1. Desperado – Eagles
Illspent time with your kids, child abuse, death of a child. And #1? Not allowing yourself to be loved. Let somebody love you, before it’s too late…

There are 20 more songs that I wrote down that didn’t make the top ten cut. All of them great songs that I may list one day. But at the moment I have a real need to listen to something cheerful and upbeat. Sammy Davis Jr., anyone?

3 thoughts on “Songs of Sadness

  1. hi!This was a really excellent website!
    I come from milan, I was luck to discover your blog in bing
    Also I get much in your blog really thank your very much i will come every day

    Like

Leave a Reply

