Heartsong

He wrote her an email first thing in the morning. “I wanted to call your work number before you came in, just to hear your voicemail. I haven’t heard your voice in ages. I miss it terribly.”

“Oh but you don’t have to do that, silly man.” she typed in her reply. “Don’t you know that my voice is the voice of your heart? You hear it every day.”

A thousand miles away he stared at his monitor in a silent smile. He knew she was right.

*****

The beauty of loving someone is the feeling of “wholeness” that I experience. The need for that individual in my life, the “I’m part of you and you’re part of me” feeling that connects two people and makes them necessary to each other. – Kathleen Andrus

One thought on “Heartsong

Leave a Reply

