15 Favorites: Authors Edition

This morning I had hoped for an extra hour of sleep due to “falling back” with daylight savings time. My two youngest had other ideas though. So since I was up already I checked my email from my phone and saw that I’d been included by a friend of mine in a chain email: 15 Favorite Authors. I read it, enjoyed it, and planned on doing mine this evening when my eyes were more open and the cobwebs cleared from my brain.

I couldn’t get the silly thing out of my head. Just like a song that echoes over and over and over in your brain (the beloved earworm) I knew I was going to obsess over my own list during my day if I didn’t create my own list. So after making my coffee I sat down with a pen and scrap paper and in five minutes had my list of fifteen at this moment in time. I would have to add a few others as Honorable Mentions: John Steinbeck, Henri Nouwen, the Apostle Paul, Peter Kreeft, Jean Shepherd, Ray Bradbury, Nick Bantock, Thomas a Kempis, Ivan Turgenev and Dom. J.B. Chautard.

I’ve never read Jane Austen but own three or four of her books. I just haven’t gotten to them yet. Maybe at another time I’ll expand upon why I listed the fifteen listed below. Perhaps after another cup or two of coffee.

*******

Don’t take too long to think about it. Fifteen authors (poets included) who’ve influenced you and that will always stick with you. List the first fifteen you can recall in no more than fifteen minutes. In no particular order:

  1. Flannery O’Connor
  2. Washington Irving
  3. J.R.R. Tolkien
  4. C.S. Lewis
  5. Kenneth Grahame
  6. Richard Paul Evans
  7. Jay Nordlinger
  8. Charles Dickens
  9. Og Mandino
  10. Herodotus
  11. O. Henry
  12. G.K. Chesterton
  13. Michael O’Brien
  14. J.K. Rowling
  15. Fyodor Dostoevsky
Leave a Reply

