Seen for what it is

Neither do men light a candle and put it under a bushel, but upon a candlestick, that it may shine to all that are in the house. – Matthew 5:15

Last week I wrote about the rate of abortion in New York City. About how much higher the percentage of pregnancies ending in abortion are there, as well as how much disturbingly higher the rate is for minorities, especially African-Americans.

I had promised a follow up this week. I’d been doing a lot of research on a few key thoughts of mine and sat down to write.

But I stopped cold. Because it was all so overwhelming. So heartbreaking. So dark.

I recently began to get subscribers to my blog. I’d even opened my own group on Facebook and people had “liked” me. I didn’t want to hit them with this issue too much and risk losing them as readers.

So I took all of the links…all of the articles…all of the research…and shelved it. I shelved my article and the quote I was going to use to introduce it. You know the quote. It’s by Edmund Burke.

“All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.”

I was going to post the new, 33-minute video from 180movie that has gone viral in the one week since its release with over 525,000 views on YouTube. It is one of the most compelling presentations and honest dialogues I’ve ever seen. (I should warn you that there is some graphic content in the video, mostly involving the Holocaust.)

For those who watch it and would accuse me of invoking Godwin’s Law in comparing the Holocaust and abortion this video is NOT an equivocation. There is some borrowed language and there is a comparison for the purpose of pursuing a logical proof, but it is not an equivocation by any means. The video consists of an examination, a few logical proofs some validation of those proofs, then a religious proof. The remarkable point of the video is the manner in which the narrator asks those interviewed to construct and then validate the logical proofs. He just uses Hitler as an example to draw out their inner moral sense. Once they make the moral argument, he then just asks them to apply it to a different case. The point is that their original positions on abortion are dogma that has been repeated so much that they can produce the politically correct response without a moment’s thought. He’s just getting them to think.

But in the end I decided that was a prolonged, philosophical exercise, the kind that people today don’t engage in anymore and would be found boring. So I shelved my writing and decided to look for other things to write about.

One of these involved a few things Pope Benedict said in a speech in Freiburg, Germany almost two weeks ago.

Light does not remain alone. All around, other lights are flaring up. In their gleam, space acquires contours, so that we can find our bearings. We do not live alone in this world. And it is for the important things of life that we have to rely on other people. Particularly in our faith, then, we do not stand alone, we are links in the great chain of believers. Nobody can believe unless he is supported by the faith of others, and conversely, through my faith, I help to strengthen others in their faith. We help one another to set an example, we give others a share in what is ours: our thoughts, our deeds, our affections. And we help one another to find our bearings, to work out where we stand in society.

[snip]

In the final analysis, the world in which we live, in spite of its technical progress, does not seem to be getting any better. There is still war and terror, hunger and disease, bitter poverty and merciless oppression. And even those figures in our history who saw themselves as “bringers of light”, but without being fired by Christ, the one true light, did not manage to create an earthly paradise, but set up dictatorships and totalitarian systems, in which even the smallest spark of true humanity is choked.

Ok, God. I’ll take another look. Perhaps a different approach. A light in the darkness. Got it. So before I shut off my laptop I decided to watch a 15-minute movie I’d found called Volition.

I hit play. I watched. I understood. I opened up a new page upon which to write because Burke said something else, not-so-famously:

“Nobody makes a greater mistake than he who does nothing because he could only do a little.”

I was about to make that mistake. And I was convicted. (Not just by Burke. Papa Bene had something to do with it too.)

Volition is a short powerful statement that illustrates what happens when good people do nothing. Evil ceases to be evil and is embraced as good and necessary for progress. Good ceases to be good and is rejected as being evil. This video powerfully connects the common thread of the kinds of evil that emerges when someone’s humanity is denied.

Abortion is our Slavery. The nation (or at least half of it) was wrong 200 years ago, and we’re just as wrong by allowing abortion. We let this happen because people believe slogans instead of facts. If you have been around long enough you have seen pro-abortion become pro-choice and then women’s health. Slaughtering an unborn baby has become a right. Allowing a baby to freeze to death on a bare stainless steel table has become accepted.

Future generations will be utterly shocked, heartbroken and angry that we allowed this holocaust to happen under the protection of law, the pretense of choice and the fear of appearing intolerant or judgmental.

Well, they would be. Except millions of them will be dead.

When you look at the key values that justified slavery, the Holocaust and abortion, they are all the same. Power is given to someone else to decide whose life is worthy of life or has value. Untold evil results in denying that personhood exists from the moment of conception.

“I just hope the day comes when we can see this for what it really is.” – from Volition

I’ll write the lighter piece on favorite paintings next week. I promise.

Leave a Reply

