When I was one of them

I’ve always felt a sort of happy melancholy this time of year. I’ve often kidded that it’s due to the end of the World Series and a spring and summer of baseball. Or that it’s because once October goes I know the long, cold winter is ahead. The truth is I’m not really sure what it is about this time of year. I at once revel in it and am apt to dread it. But as I get older I’ve grown more comfortable in it. It has become an old friend whom I welcome for a spell, and once the green shoots begin to appear beneath the frozen snow I bid him farewell.

Last Friday when I arrived home someone in the neighborhood had their fireplace lit and it smelled wonderful. I hope they are doing the same again tonight.

Until today I had never heard this Barry Manilow tune based upon some Johnny Mercer lyrics found after his death. It’s appropriate for today methinks.

Oh, for the fun of them...

And when October goes
The snow begins to fly
Above the smokey roofs
I watch the planes go by
The children running home
Beneath a twilight sky
Oh, for the fun of them
When I was one of them

And when October goes
The same old dream appears
And you are in my arms
To share the happy years
I turn my head away
To hide the helpless tears
Oh how I hate to see October go

And when October goes
The same old dream appears
And you are in my arms
To share the happy years
I turn my head away
To hide the helpless tears
Oh how I hate to see October go
I should be over it now I know
It doesn’t matter much
How old I grow
I hate to see October go

One thought on “When I was one of them

Leave a Reply

