Bookmarks

It’s been a hectic two weeks. My oldest son finished his high school spring baseball season with the junior varsity and was called to swing up with the varsity as they make their post-season run. My middle son began his little league baseball practices and is finishing up his initial soccer season. We are spending time with our daughter teaching her how to catch, throw and hit a softball as her first year of micro-softball begins later this summer. I’m trying to keep up with the mowing, planning a home renovation project, learning to pray a new breviary (and learn a little Latin along the way) spending time with Buster the Beagle, and trying to be a husband and father in all things.

And of course there’s my day job.

I’ve stopped and started many a blog and have filled my designated hard drive folder with incomplete and random thoughts. Some of them having to do with whether or not I’ll continue to blog. Others with books. Some are of a political concern. One or two are more whimsical. None of them high enough on my busy priority list to make time to post them.

Allow me to report that no, I’m “not dead yet.” Just busy. (See the embedded video below in case you’re unfamiliar with the reference. My wee bit o’ whimsy for the day.)

The reason for my questioning as to whether I’ll continue to blog or not (or at least in what limited capacity I may do so) has to do with a renewed interest in contemplative prayer. Not only am I learning the 1962 era Divine Office (which I intend to write about at length later), but I have been reevaluating my calling, or gifts if you want to call them that. I had always thought my calling was to teach, and that writing was my means of teaching. But events lately have aligned that have caused me to consider that writing really isn’t my calling.

Or perhaps it’s just a loss of confidence in my ability to say anything worthy of reading by anyone.

So while I continue to wade through the busy spring I thought I’d share something I read last week during Session 9 of Fr. Barron’s Catholicism series. The session was about prayer and looked in particular at Thomas Merton (one of my favorites), Saint John of the Cross and Saint Teresa of Avila.

In the session’s section on St. Teresa a brief poem was brought to light. It is known as “Bookmark” because it was found in her prayer book after her death in 1582. Composed in Spanish, it has been variously translated into English and has been very widely circulated.

Let nothing disturb you,
Let nothing frighten you,
All things are passing away:
God never changes.
Patience obtains all things.
Whoever has God lacks nothing;
God alone suffices.

During this busy, often hectic, time of transition in my personal life as well as the frantic nature of our lives as parents, children, employees, neighbors, community members, informed (or uninformed) citizens, parishioners, and all of the rest of it, this is a poem and a prayer I am keeping close to my heart. In fact I’ve printed it out for use as a bookmark before I begin to pray each of the hours of the Divine Office.

So yes, “Bookmark” is my bookmark. In a life filled with stops and starts and misplaced bookmarks of varying kinds this one has entered my life at just the right time.

*****

2 thoughts on “Bookmarks

  1. A beautiful prayer, thank you for sharing. I always find your blog to be well-written, always interesting and usually thought-provoking. But I can understand that it may take more time and energy than you have to spare right now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

