Scarlet seeps from the heart

Francisco Goya, Saturn Devouring His Son. 1819-23.

It appears that Jonathan Swift’s “Modest Proposal” got lost in translation to the Chinese.

To all the so-called “enlightened”. To the “moderns.” To the “light-bearers”. You know who you are. You who constantly are harping or tsk-tsking or clucking your tongues and shaking your heads in bewilderment at how in this the 21st century there could possibly be people like me who exist (while tripping over our dragging knuckles). People who hold to the foundation and growth of thousands of years of philosophy, theology, history, faith and reason. We who hold that the latter two tenets are not mutually exclusive. We who endure your snarky self-righteous all-knowing platitudes of condescension anyway.

To you I ask: This is “progress”? This is “evolving” humanity?

Next I suppose you’ll argue with me that these are just fetuses, and therefore only “potential” life. Don’t roll your eyes…I’ve had that actual conversation with one too many who say so to justify actions just such as this:

Thousands of smuggled capsules reportedly filled with powdered human flesh from dead babies were seized by South Korean customs officials on Monday, the AP reports.

The capsules are in demand because many believe they are stamina boosters that can cure any illness. In reality, they contain lethal bacteria and can be very harmful for health.

Officials say the capsules were made in northeastern China from babies whose bodies were chopped into small pieces and dried on stoves before being turned into powder. They refused to say who was responsible, citing diplomatic friction with Beijing.

There’s more:

The grim trade is being run from China where corrupt medical staff are said to be tipping off medical companies when babies are aborted or delivered still-born.

The tiny corpses are then bought, stored in household refrigerators in homes of those involved in the trade before they are removed and taken to clinics where they are placed in medical drying microwaves.

Once the skin is tinder dry, it is pummelled into powder and then processed into capsules along with herbs to disguise the true ingredients from health investigators and customs officers.

There’s also evidence that these are not just aborted or still-born children being devoured.

There have been disturbing reports that some babies were those who had perished in China’s notorious ‘dying rooms’ where youngsters are deliberately left to die because they were born into families that already had the limit of one child in country areas.

In order to keep its population down, China performs 13 million abortions a year – mainly because mothers sacrifice their newborns to avoid punishment such as severe fines or even a beating by the authorities.

The Chinese authorities have confirmed that 38 per cent of women of child-bearing age have been sterilised – but the babies that are aborted do not go to waste because of the sickening trade in using their corpses for purported medicinal purposes.

Words fail me. Not because I’m so mortally horrified that I can’t think straight, although I’m close. They fail me because my mouth simply will not work fast enough to utter all of the things I wish to say right now.

Thirteen million per year is 35,616 per day. It’s a fact that the larger proportion of babies being aborted or killed in China are girls. Here is your real “War on Women”, not some political-party talking point designed to gin up fake outrage and fill the coffers with fundraising dollars. But do go on…keep telling yourself these things and making yourself feel good. Keep telling yourself how “right-thinking” you are and say so over and over again in letters to the editor or comboxes on your local newspaper’s website. It isn’t true. No matter how many times you do so, it just isn’t true. Period.

I admit that when I initially read this last night I thought there’s no way this story is true. The first source I saw was dubious at best, but I’ve now seen it reported here, here and here. And we are only a week removed from the underreported travails of Chen Guangcheng, and China has been in the news before regarding the harvesting of organs, and not always from the dead.

_______

The title of this piece came from a line in a poem by mecthespeck. It may be found here.

8 thoughts on “Scarlet seeps from the heart

    • Thanks L. They came to my mind too actually. Had I taken a breath and an extra day to put this together I would have used them as an example. Missed opportunity I guess.

      Thanks for stopping by! It’s always good to hear from you.

      Like

      • “A Modest Proposal” was also a great analogy! I just got that witchy feeling when reading about this…It is very sad:( Thank you for talking about it. A lot of people just don’t know. God bless…

        Like

      • I guess because you seem to be angry with a group of people ‘moderns’ – I’m not sure who they are but I’m guessing atheists, because of the religious content of your page. So I assume you’re a Christian, and so my question is a genuine one. Why does God tell the Israelites to kill so many people, in the Bible ‘down to the last child’?

        Like

  1. @butimbeautiful (above): You admit to using a strawman to deflect from the subject contained in the post. Then you state (wrongly) that I’m angry. You then “guess” I’m angry at a group of people because you “assume” I belong to another group.

    Let me be clear: I’m not angry. I’m not even mildly upset. Am I to assume that you label people who disagree with a position you hold as “angry” and therefore “haters”?

    Nowhere in this post was the question you asked brought up or addressed. You introduced it as a means to deflect from the subject at hand. A classic strawman. If you truly are genuine in your search for an answer to your question why don’t you research it for yourself? Meanwhile, if in the future I decide to write on the subject I’ll be sure to send a notification to you so we can discuss it. Fair?

    Like

  2. Pingback: Posts About Women… | Lame Housewife

Leave a Reply

