I gunna praise me God all me days

To celebrate the new famous “International Talk Like a Pirate Day”, I decided to follow the lead of The Ironic Catholic and translate a psalm. I therefore present to you one of the psalms from today’s Morning Prayer, with its Antiphon.

It’s taken from the Revised Standard Pirate Version (RSPV) of the Bible, naturally. Avast! Have some fun, ye swabs! Pirates be people too, and not all of ’em want to swim in Davy Jones’ locker for eternity.

*****

Psalm 146

I gunna praise me God all me days.

Praise th’ Lord, me soul.
I gunna praise th’ Lord all me life,
make music to me God as long as I exist.

Do not trust in princes to save ye,
they be only sons ‘o men.
One day their breath gunna leave them, they gunna return to th’ ground;
on that day perish all their plans.

Grog-filled th’ one whose help be th’ God ‘o Jacob,
whose woe be in th’ Lord his God,
who made heaven ‘n earth ‘n all that be in them,
who keeps faith fer ever,
who gives justice to th’ oppressed,
who gives grub to th’ famished.

Th’ Lord frees prisoners,
he gives light to th’ blind,
he raises th’ fallen.
th’ Lord loves th’ upright, cares fer strangers,
sustains orphans ‘n widows;
but th’ wicked he sends astray.

Th’ Lord gunna reign fer all ages,
ye God, O Zion, from generation to generation.

Glory be to th’ salty sea-dog ‘o a father ‘n to th’ Son ‘n to th’ Holy Ghost,
as it was in th’ beginnin’, be now, ‘n ever shall be,
seven seas without end.
Arrrrrrrmen.

I gunna praise me God all me days.

*****

And lest ye think I’d forget:

Albinus of Angers, patron saint against pirate attacks
Born: 470
Died: 550
Feast Day: March 1

A bishop and miracle worker also known as Aubin. A noted miracle worker during his lifetime, his grave became a popular pilgrimage destination because of the miracles performed there. He showed great generosity to the sick and the poor. He ransomed slaves whenever possible and cared for them.

Albinus had a big heart and couldn’t resist a call of distress. He used church money to free hostages from pirates. Churches were dedicated to him right across the continent as far as Poland, and he was sometimes seen as the patron saint for protection from pirate attack. Obviously, pirate attacks aren’t very common today, but in the 10th century, St. Albinus came in handy for the people of the walled town of Guerande. They had gotten word that pirates were on their way to attack the village and immediately started to pray to St. Albinus. The attackers were mysteriously deterred and the town was saved.

Thus, his fame increased and many coastal villages chose Aubin as their patron saint. Presumably this is the reason why St. Aubin in Jersey bears his name, preserving the name of an ancient chapel that has long since disappeared. St. Aubin is venerated there in the Anglican church of St Aubin on the Hill.

Leave a Reply

