Relief. Discomfort. Just pull it already!

In hindsight it probably was a terrible idea to watch this clip before I head in to my oral surgeon tomorrow and have a cracked molar extracted. A consultation last week confirmed that a root canal would do no good. Wheeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!

But on the other hand I’m so sick of the pain and discomfort of the past three weeks, not too mention the irritable fog I’ve dwelled in due to the painkillers, that I’d be willing to have Dr. Szell go to work right now if necessary.

“Is it safe?”

“You’re damn right it’s safe, doc. Just take out this stinking tooth. And don’t skimp on the oil of cloves.”

is it safe_marathon man

Hoping this isn’t the last thing I see tomorrow morning.

Saint Apollonia is considered the patron saint of dentists and those suffering from toothaches. From Wikipedia:

Saint Apollonia was one of a group of virgin martyrs who suffered in Alexandria during a local uprising against the Christians prior to the persecution of Decius in 249 AD. According to legend, her torture included having all of her teeth violently pulled out or shattered. For this reason, she is popularly regarded as the patroness of dentistry and those suffering from toothache or other dental problems. French court painter Jehan Fouquet painted the scene of St. Apollonia’s torture in The Martyrdom of St. Apollonia.

You can view the painting by clicking here.

Apollonia is honored as the patron saint of dentists, but this woman who had her teeth extracted without anesthetic surely ought to be the patron of those who dread the chair.

The following prayer is published in F. Martinez’s book on dentistry published in Valladolid, Spain, in 1557:

Illustrious virgin martyr, Apollonia,
Pray to the Lord for us
Lest for our offenses and sins we be punished
By diseases of the teeth.

Yikes! How about instead I pray these comforting words of this traditional Catholic Prayer to St. Apollonia?

0 Glorious Apollonia, patron saint of dentistry and refuge to all those suffering from diseases of the teeth, I consecrate myself to thee, beseeching thee to number me among thy clients. Assist me by your intercession with God in my daily work and intercede with Him to obtain for me a happy death. Pray that my heart like thine may be inflamed with the love of Jesus and Mary, through Christ our Lord. Amen. 0 My God, bring me safe through temptation and strengthen me as thou didst our own patron Apollonia, through Christ our Lord. Amen.

Saint Augustine famously prayed “O Lord, make me chaste. But not yet.” I suppose I should pray for a happy death.

But not yet, ok Lord? No Dr. Szell is necessary. It’s just a routine tooth extraction.

Right?

2 thoughts on “Relief. Discomfort. Just pull it already!

  1. I’ve been thinking about you! Wondering how you are. Clearly this tooth thing has been more than a nuisance. I’m so sorry! I hope that the extraction and everything goes well, and that you are pain-free soon! Also, poor Apollonia. I can only imagine the horror. It is terrifying some of the things that mankind has done (and is still doing) to each other over the centuries. I’m getting more and more comfortable with the idea of saints, thanks to you, by the way. Glad to call you a friend. 😉 I’ll be praying all goes well tomorrow!

    Like

    • Thank you Jess! I’d have replied earlier but the last few days have been a blur. I hope you and yours had a wonderful 4th of July together. I really appreciate the prayers and I’m happy to call you a friend, too. It appears I’ve got some reading to catch up on your blog. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

