Play that funky music

We Are the Music-Makers
by Arthur William Edgar O’Shaughnessy

We are the music-makers,
And we are the dreamers of dreams,
Wandering by lone sea-breakers,
And sitting by desolate streams.
World-losers and world-forsakers,
Upon whom the pale moon gleams;
Yet we are the movers and shakers,
Of the world forever, it seems.

With wonderful deathless ditties
We build up the world’s great cities,
And out of a fabulous story
We fashion an empire’s glory:
One man with a dream, at pleasure,
Shall go forth and conquer a crown;
And three with a new song’s measure
Can trample an empire down.

We, in the ages lying
In the buried past of the earth,
Built Nineveh with our sighing,
And Babel itself with our mirth;
And o’erthrew them with prophesying
To the old of the new world’s worth;
For each age is a dream that is dying,
Or one that is coming to birth.

The moon over my backyard last fall "upon whom gleams".

Taken in my backyard last fall “upon whom the pale moon gleams”.

My life is quieter now. Deactivating Facebook for the next few weeks has helped. I normally take a break during Lent but this year decided to go away from Septuagesima Sunday on February 16th through Shrove Tuesday on March 4th. I’d been kicking around the idea for awhile and when I woke up last Sunday morning I did it first thing from my phone. Now I don’t know what the hell to do with my phone. Make calls I guess. Play solitaire.

Since I stopped blogging here on December 30th I have

  • blogged a little elsewhere.
  • took a stab at trying a few new blogs/different directions over at Blogger. I decided not to go down that path for now.
  • have been reading up a storm: books on natural law, a lot of St. Thomas Aquinas, Greek/Roman early European history as well as English history
  • have been journaling like crazy, with three of them on different subjects being penned each week.
  • became a member of the New Saint Thomas Institute and am taking courses on philosophy and theology when my schedule allows for it.
  • began to once again make it a point to pray the rosary each night before bed, typically around 10:30ish. I wrote a little about that here.
  • made my children a priority, as we wind down a senior year/final summer with one and continue to grow and discover new and fun personality traits of the other two.
  • dedicated 2014 to be a “year of listening” for me. I’ve gotten better. Need to improve much more. Have heard and learned a few things in the silence I’ve allowed.
  • decided that in the spirit of a fresh start blogging-wise I didn’t want to completely start over and instead renamed this blog. It’s mine. I can do that.

Yeah, I know. I said I was done here. And I’m not all that sure what direction this will go once I decide to dedicate some time again though I have a pretty good idea. But having looked through what I’ve left here over the course of six years I’m in no hurry to just delete it all or go dormant. I like most of what I’ve written here. I cringe when I read a lot of what I’ve written here. But I never claimed to be Shakespeare.

So I’ve changed this blog’s name. Changed the format. Will continue to play with the format.

I am, in my small way, a wanna-be music-maker. Anyone who really knows me will tell you that one of my virtues is not an ability to keep my mouth shut. As a former trombone player and pounder of my little brother’s drum kit I have never been one to be quiet about my music. I’ll hit sour notes now and then, be out of tune or miss a beat…but I still want to play.

Even if my form of playing is simply making a few mere observations.

4 thoughts on “Play that funky music

  1. I’m glad to see this, Jeff. You inspire me with your continual introspection. I guess I’m a little the same, and maybe that’s why I relate to you well. I will be writing you back soon. Promise.

    Like

  2. I love this old, enchanting poem, although I haven’t thought of it in years. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Congrats on clearing out some noise. I think that’s pretty much always good — pulling away from the virtual world as much as is feasible and living in the living present.

    Like

    • Thanks Bryana. I agree, and have always talked about the need to do so. But MAN! Has it ever been more of a challenge than I thought it would be to leave it behind. It ticks me off a little that I let it get such a grip on me as far as habits go. I can’t stand reality tv yet that’s what social media can become if we’re not careful.

      Like

Leave a Reply

