Don’t turn away

Note: I think I may have used this song in a post before. No matter. I’ve no time to find it and it applies just as much today as it may have then.

On the turning away
From the pale and downtrodden
And the words they say
Which we won’t understand
“Don’t accept that what’s happening
Is just a case of others’ suffering
Or you’ll find that you’re joining in
The turning away”

Having taken Thursday off from work in order to drive to Omaha at 6am and watch my nephew wrestle at the state wrestling championships I found myself listening to Pink Floyd’s On The Turning Away while driving to work this morning. (He went 2-0 and will wrestle in the semis this afternoon. Go Jake!) On the drive to and from Omaha I listened to the news on the radio, and coming home mid-afternoon had the house to myself and watched more news on television. The images of the chaos and the killings in Kiev and Venezuela came rushing back to my mind’s eye while listening to the Floyd this morning, and it seemed to me that once again we are at one of those all-too-familiar moments in time where the world appears it will devour itself. Where it appears that we are all turning away from our very humanity.

It’s a sin that somehow
Light is changing to shadow
And casting it’s shroud
Over all we have known
Unaware how the ranks have grown
Driven on by a heart of stone
We could find that we’re all alone
In the dream of the proud

Do we turn away? Or are we keeping busy by distracting ourselves? I have to admit somewhat with a red face that leaving social media behind has been a whole lot tougher than I imagined it would be. It’s only been five days yet I keep staring at the apps on my phone’s screen. Yesterday at the meet from on high where I was watching Jake with my brother’s extended family in a suite above the ten mats below I wanted to send out pictures and updates about my nephew. But I’m going to try my best to hold out until early March when spring baseball will cause me to return as a senior parent in charge of communications. I wish I didn’t have to though. For reasons I may write about another day I’ve had my fill of Facebook and the rest. From this much I wouldn’t mind turning away.

And so I was in a generally rotten mood on my drive in this morning. But then…

On the wings of the night
As the daytime is stirring
Where the speechless unite
In a silent accord
Using words you will find are strange
And mesmerised as they light the flame
Feel the new wind of change
On the wings of the night

I saw pictures taken from Kiev like this from a news story full of more photos equally as powerful.

Orthodox priests pray as they stand between pro-European Union activists and police lines in central Kiev, Ukraine, early Friday, Jan. 24, 2014. A top Ukrainian opposition leader on Thursday urged protesters to maintain a shaky cease-fire with police after at least two demonstrators were killed in clashes this week, but some in the crowd appeared defiant, jeering and chanting "revolution" and "shame." (AP Photo/Sergei Grits)

Orthodox priests pray as they stand between pro-European Union activists and police lines in central Kiev, Ukraine, early Friday, Jan. 24, 2014. (AP Photo/Sergei Grits)

And a friend sent me a news story about this.

Pamela Rauseo, 37, performs CPR on her nephew, five-month-old Sebastian de la Cruz, after pulling her SUV over on the side of the road along the west bound lane on Florida state road 836 just east of 57th Avenue around 2:30pm on Thursday, Feb. 20, 2014. At right is Lucila Godoy who stopped her car to assist in the rescue. The baby was rushed to Jackson Memorial Hospital, where he is reportedly doing ok. (AP/The Miami Herald, Al Diaz)

Pamela Rauseo, 37, performs CPR on her nephew, five-month-old Sebastian de la Cruz, after pulling her SUV over on the side of the road along the west bound lane on Florida state road 836 just east of 57th Avenue around 2:30pm on Thursday, Feb. 20, 2014. At right is Lucila Godoy who stopped her car to assist in the rescue. (AP/The Miami Herald, Al Diaz)

And I looked at the following photos in my phone:

My daughter insists that she, not Hallmark, make the card for whatever friend she has that is celebrating a birthday.

birthday card

I found this written on the bill of my 18-year old son’s baseball cap as it lay on top of his glove one morning after pitching practice. As a senior he is expected to lead. Never one to be vocal about it however he has always attempted to quietly lead by example. That is what Ductus Exemplo means: leadership by example.

ductus exemplo_cap

No more turning away
From the weak and the weary
No more turning away
From the coldness inside
Just a world that we all must share
It’s not enough just to stand and stare
Is it only a dream that there’ll be
No more turning away?

If it’s only a dream then it is a very good dream. One worth fighting for. But to fight for it one must be cognizant of it. One must avoid distractions.

Dare to add to your bucket list: Avoid distractions while not turning away. Be selfless.

This morning I watched this video I’ve placed at the end of this post. I insist you do as well.

2 thoughts on “Don’t turn away

Leave a Reply

